PolarTREC News

Explore with Weddell Seals

Alex Eilers in Antarctica

Alex Eilers is back with her team in Antarctica studying the Weddell seals. They are gathering lots of information on the seals to understanding their body conditions throughout the year. You can also check out Alex's webpage at antarcticarevisited.com.

Antarctica Rocks!

Brian DuBay in Antarctica

Teacher Brian DuBay is in high demand by his research team. He is still teaching, but is also a full field team member! He is back down to the ice to study the tectonic history of the Transantarctic Mountains.

PolarTREC in the Dry Valleys, Antarctica

Lucy Coleman hiking up Observation Hill.

Lucy Coleman and her team are in the Dry Valleys. At their remote field camp near Lake Joyce they are studying microbialites. Her communications are limited but she has been able to send amazing journals and photos!

Celebrate Antarctica Day! Webinar

Celebrate Antarctica Day!

Participate in a PolarConnect webinar from Antarctica! It's free and easy to participate!
Date: Tuesday, 2 December 2014
Time: 10:00am Alaska Standard Time [11:00am PST, 12:00pm MST, 1:00pm CST, 2:00pm EST]
Alex Eilers is at McMurdo with her team studying Weddell Seals. Join us for a PolarConnect Event celebrating Antarctica Day and learning more about the team's research!

JSEP Applications Open Now

JSEP Flyer

Students Invited to Apply for the Joint Science Education Project (JSEP)
Applications open November 15, 2014 and close January 9, 2015.

The three-week program takes place entirely in Greenland. Participants from the United States, Denmark, and Greenland live and work together while exploring current research and completing their own inquiry-based investigations.

New Climate Change Lessons

Two Views of Climate Change

PolarTREC hosted a 4-day field course for teachers on climate change in Denali National Park. Participants created lessons that are now available in PolarTREC Resources - Search Keyword "Climate Change" to find the five lessons. Check out this featured lesson combining art and change with repeat photography.

Call for Abstracts

NSTA Logo

Share Your Good Ideas!
Don't delay and submit a session proposal for the NSTA 2015 STEM Forum & Expo.
NSTA is now accepting proposals for the STEM Forum & Expo in Minneapolis, May 20­23, 2015. The deadline for submissions is: Monday, December 1, 2014.
Click here for more information and to submit a proposal.
Questions? Email: lcrossley [at] nsta [dot] org

Follow PolarTREC Teacher on FB & Twitter

Dominque on FB

Look who is getting READY FOR ANTARCTICA! Follow Dominique Richardson on PolarTREC. Her expedition can be followed on PolarTREC as well as on FaceBook here and @EastAntarctica on Twitter!

Featured Video

Latest Journal

Tyler Mackey In Dry Valleys
Tyler is appearing here as my guest writer for this journal entry! My name is Tyler Mackey, and I...

Latest Comments

Thank you again for your questions! I will take them one at a time. The veterinarian uses small doses of Ketamine and Midazolam to sedate the seals. The seals are only sedated for approximately 1½...
That is awesome Garrett! Thanks for letting me know! I'm glad you are enjoying the journals - keep watching because there is more to come! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Alex...
We got ours on Nov. 24th too. Of course Mary Ann and I are in the same class at St. Louis Catholic School so that makes since. :-) We love watching your adventures on the internet! Garrett

From YouTube

Recent Resource

Lesson
Overview In this lesson, students will observe repeat photography samples from Denali National Park that show the change in vegetation over time due to change in climate. This activity introduces students to using observation techniques and visual art vocabulary and skills to create an...